Thursday, July 2, 2009


Hall of Fame inductees announced today

USOC July 01, 2009

U.S. Olympic Committee and Allstate Announce the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame Class of 2009

Special induction ceremony to serve as Sprint to the Finish Chicago 2016 fundraiser; Inaugural Olive Branch Achievement Award winner to also be announced

COLORADO SPRINGS, COLO. - The fans have weighed in, the votes have been counted and the results are final.

Today, the U.S. Olympic Committee (USOC) and Allstate Insurance Company (NYSE: ALL) announced the members of the Class of 2009 who will be inducted into the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame presented by Allstate. The U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame is the only national sports hall of fame that uses fan voting as part of its selection process. This year's class is comprised of five Olympians, one Paralympian, one team, as well as three additional individuals: a coach, veteran and a special contributor.

The star-studded inductee list includes Michael Johnson (athletics), Picabo Street (alpine skiing), Teresa Edwards (basketball), Willye B. White (athletics), Mary T. Meagher (swimming), Sarah Will (Paralympic alpine skiing), the 1992 U.S. Men's Olympic Basketball Team, longtime Men's Gymnastics coach Abie Grossfeld, skiing veteran Andrea Mead-Lawrence, and special contributor Peter Ueberroth. Amazingly, members of this talented group of athletes, teams and coaches have been a part of a combined 21 Olympic and Paralympic Games and brought home a total of 46 medals.


No comments: